Diet Prep

So, as most of you know, I am starting a new diet. It’s the Whole30 diet.  You can google it, but basically it’s a paleo diet.  But REALLY strict.  It’s supposed to “reset” your body as far as insulin production and usage, inflammatory processes, and a lot of other things…you have to read the website.  It’s very motivating!  I spent a lot of time online finding recipes to make this plan realistic.  I didn’t want to jump head first into it and a couple days down the road find out I don’t have anything to eat.  One of the main websites that I went on was a nomnompaleo.com  website. The girl who blogs there did the program twice and documented everything she ate and has a lot of good recipes.  The Whole30 website motivated me to want to do the diet and the nomnompaleo website motivated me to believe I can do it.

So, today I had high hopes of shopping for everything I would need for the week and cooking all my meals for the week.  I know this week will be busy because I have to work 2 days and I have to get ready for Dottie’s bridal shower on Saturday.  But I didn’t even get home from shopping until 4:00-4:30.  I was already EXHAUSTED!  So, at this point, I made sure I had enough stuff made for breakfast, lunch and dinner for Brent and I for tomorrow.  I had marinated chicken breast last night.  I marinated it in a LOT of lemon juice, olive oil, a LOT of garlic, a LOT of salt, pepper, thyme, oregano, and sage.  When I got home from my shopping trip, I baked the breasts in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.  When they came out, I let them cool, and shredded them for use in the weeks lunches, or snack attacks if I’m really hungry and don’t feel like making anything.

While the chicken was baking, I got my pot roast started.  I used the recipe from the shecookshecleans.net website … it’s the pot roast with balsamic onion gravy. (I of course left out the onions lol) and I added some carrots and parsnips.  It is almost done cooking now and it smells SO good.

For breakfasts throughout the week, I made scotch eggs which I also got from the nomnompaleo site..  The recipe called for breakfast sausage, but I read that pork is one of the worst meats you can eat unless it’s organic – grass fed, free range, etc.  That is REALLY hard to find.  So I found a recipe for “make your own sausage” and I substituted organic ground turkey.  They weren’t too hard to make…and they don’t look too bad either.  I will have to wait for breakfast tomorrow to see how they taste.  🙂

I assembled Brent and my lunches for tomorrow – lettuce cups (with bib lettuce) with julienned cucumber, and carrots and shredded chicken.  I also got for snacks, a handful of almonds, a tablespoon of coconut butter and about 1/2 a cup of coconut milk to eat with about 1/4 cup fresh blackberries.  Brent doesn’t like coconut, so he only gets the lettuce cups and some almonds and an apple. I am a little worried that I’ll be hungry, but I’m hoping I’m busy so I don’t think about it too much.  I’ll write again tomorrow night and let you know how it went!  🙂

But as for tonight, I’m having my last “hoorah” by drinking a Mike’s hard lemonade (or two) and having mac and cheese.  🙂  I know it’s sad, but I’m gonna miss my mac and cheese 😦

3 thoughts on “Diet Prep

  1. Dottie

    I’m proud of you and more than losing weight, I hope this diet helps you to feel better. I love you so much. If I can help, let me know. ~Dottie

    Reply
  2. She cooks...He cleans

    Congratulations on starting your Whole30 plan, and thanks for linking to our recipe for pot roast with balsamic onion gravy. While Nom Nom Paleo is indeed awesome, the recipe you linked is not from her website as you stated. It is from She Cooks, He Cleans. I hope you enjoy it, even without the onions! 🙂

    Reply
    1. donna7707 Post author

      Oh wow, sorry about that. I will correct my misstatement. Thanks. I guess I was on so many different websites I got confused. It is a fantastic recipe though. Thanks so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

